YESORNODC


Yes: Summer Movies, No: A.O. Scott by btfaust
May 2, 2008, 2:25 pm
Filed under: Film

Well, I saw Iron Man last night. It was pretty dumb but it was fun while it lasted and Robert Downey Jr. was good. Ultimately, if you miss it you won’t miss out on much except the beginning of the Summer movie season and the new Indiana Jones trailer.

There, that’s all you have to say, A.O. Scott. You suck.


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wait, are you saying A.O.Scott sucks because he wrote a 1,000 word review for the NY Times when your review for a burgeoning blog was only 50 words? It’s not like his review was poorly written or anything. Wish I could say the same for the laughably out of touch review from LA Times film critic Kenneth Turan that aired on NPR this morning:
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=89840968#89846396

Comment by Jason

I actually kind of love A.O. Scott.

Comment by kyletm

No, I just hate how he’s so ready to love shit like this. Instead of actually giving a critique of the movie he just talks about how good ALL the acting is as if that excuses everything else. ONE actor was enjoyable. That’s not much of an accomplishment. David Denby and J. Hoberman are the only good ones left.

Comment by btfaust

Agree with kyletm re: David Denby. Also, while Anthony Lane can sometimes be guilty of being a bit too cutesy and too clever for his own good, I do enjoy his film writing quite a bit. Hell, I even bought his book when it came out.

Whoa… did we just shift from geeking out about summer blockbusters to geeking out about film critics? God I love the internets!

Comment by thatjasonguy

Hahaha. You got me! Well, here’s David Denby’s review: http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/cinema/2008/05/05/080505crci_cinema_denby

I think he does a great job although he’s a little too uptight at points.

Comment by btfaust

Whoops, meant to type I agree with btfaust re: Denby. (But I agree with kyletm re: A.O. Scott, too.) Actually, my favorite part of the NY Times reviews are the cheeky parental guidance blubs at the end. To wit:

“Iron Man” is rated PG-13 (Parents strongly cautioned). It has a lot of action violence, none of it especially graphic or gruesome. Also, Iron Man has sex, and not with the suit on. But not completely naked either.”

Comment by thatjasonguy

suit off?? lame

Comment by rachels

The New York Times is totally in a mess with its critics right now. In my opinion, of course. Manohla Dargis? Where’s Stephen Holden ever? They should hire Hoberman and get him on a better salary than the Village Voice.
Anyway, it’s 10:30… I swear I’m going out now.

Comment by btfaust

David Denby continually misses the boat, I know if he hates something I will love it and vice versa. I’m glad he lost all that money in the market, he sucks. Anthony Lane is a god among men. A.O. Scott is very nice and taller in person that you would think! Stephen Hunter should’ve taken the buy-out and I will tell him so in his next live chat, you just see if I don’t.

Comment by evelynwaugh

[…] up on our commentary on movie critics: Anthony Lane mauled Sex and the City.  Now he’s catching some flack for an […]

Pingback by Yes: Criticizing Criticism « YESORNODC




Leave a comment